Yippee!  The new Ornament magazine is here and there’s finally some content I’m interested in – it’s been a bit.  There’s a very nice feature article on Micki Lippe, a wonderful jewelry designer in Seattle and a really, really nice person.  Micki has been on my radar for a while – she was one of the first group of people to get their hands on PMC back in 1995 at Haystack School in Maine.  I’m also pleased to say that she’s been very complementary of my work.  Artisans on Taylor carries some of her jewelry and I got to see the show at Souvenir that’s mentioned in the article.  This neckpiece is particularly amazing…..Mikki_lippe_5_blogsize                                  

One of the things I enjoyed about the article was to discover Micki spent a good block of time in Germany with some jewelry designers there and, like me, is a fan of German design.  I got hooked after seeing a whole section of German designers at the NY Gift show last year.  The work I saw was organic while staying very contemporary.  Not so sterile as what I associate with Scandinavian design, and definitely possessing a rustic edge.

Liedtke_earrings

I’ve been following one artists’ work,  Claudia Liedtke , (these are her earrings) since then and then recently discovered a website that is all European jewelry designers Klimt02: art jewellery  – another one of those long term perusal projects.

Something Micki mentioned about the designers she worked with was their willingness to allow the silversmithing process to show through.  That’s something I’ve been working towards in PMC – I want it to look like what it is.  I very much like "the bones" to show.  I want my work to be well and lovingly crafted, but I don’t want it to be perfect.  I’ve always been afraid that if it’s not perfect, I’ll be discovered as a fraud and a hack.  That all ties into my "no MFA" syndrome.  I’m delighted to report that I’m pretty much done with that phase in my life.  There’s a lot to be said for selling tons of jewelry to some pretty good venues to dispel that idea.

That’s it for right now.  Back to work for this little jewelry maven.

