So here goes my first time putting up my own work … in the interest of putting things out there and having faith in the universe . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

Why I never thought of this before – mica fires very nicely – duh!  Probably why it’s been used in woodstoves and about a zillion high-heat applications for lord knows how long. 

I have a reasonable stash of ruby mica left from when Nina and I would make raids on a rock shop in Asheville.  They’d sell 3"x5" sheets 6 for $5 or something like that.  I found out that if you asked to see what they had "in the back" from an unknowing clerk, they’d bring out this humongous zip-loc bag with big thick sheets about 8"x10" and sell them for the same price.  The trick was to be there when the manager wasn’t.  Needless to say, over several months we bought a bunch, which I’ve been hoarding ever since.

Byzantine_cross_blog_size_3So, after all these years I’m finally firing some of the stuff.  I’ve also been revisiting my "medieval phase" as you will see.  Here’s two new pieces with PMC wrapped around medium thick mica.  The cross is mica with "the sun and moon" – a faceted sunstone in the center and a moonstone cab at the top.   

The second piece is based on a style of ornament from the middle ages – I’m trying to remember, either royal or papal regalia.  I’ve been wanting to do something like this for years.  Each square of mica is wrapped with PMC; the seven bottom squares have a faceted square peridot in the center.  The whole thing is wired together with beautiful big blue pearls.  This one sold to one of my favorite Artfest people (and a big fan of my work) about five minutes after I brought it into AOT.Byzantine_neck_blog_size

I have a couple of pieces with mica that were fired up to 1650 – it undergoes an extraordinary change … but you’ll have to wait and see.  I’m talking seriously cool transformation. 

Okay, c’est fin for now.  Bon soir and ttfn.

