Ever in search of inspiration . . .
Okay, so this may be a side of me some of you don't know.  A long time closet fashionista, I've had this idea of collaborating with a clothing designer to create work specifically to complement a line of clothing.  Years ago (way back when I was doing mostly beads with some silver)  I used to work with Ad-lib, a clothing store here in Asheville.  I'd get their color swatches for the new season's collections and design work that would tie in.  Great fun.

I have yet to hook up with a designer of my own, but am ever hopeful.  So, these last couple of days I've spent hours looking at a stack of the  Fiberarts Design Book series I found at the library and all morning pouring over videos of various fashion week runway shows  on Style.com – NY and Paris from the last couple of years – lord I love this stuff!  Makes me miss Project Runway and my annual trip to Mood Fabrics in NY. 

So, what would I design to go with ……..
Studio Rundholz 
– a long time favorite German husband and wife design team.Rundholz sp 08

or Yohji Yamamoto Yohji yamamoto
– really like the mix of textures and mixed up silhouette.

I've just started following Burberry – some interesting things going on. Burberry sp 09

And, consistently one of my favorites, Vera Wang.  Vera wang sp 09
I'll see an image of something I really like and it's almost always Vera. 

Okay, so most of these shots are already accessorized – in my mind I'm blocking out what the designer has done and working on what I'd like to see.  So, if anyone's wondering where I am – I've got my nose buried in books and videos with piles of potential components strewn about.   Won't we all be curious to see what comes of my current diversion. 

Still have to work the "woodland tinker" theme in there as well.  Hmmmmmm……….

with gratitude and blessings,
kvk

p.s. a decidedly different soundtrack accompanies this diversion …

Tanita Tikaram – Ancient Heart

P J Harvey – Is This Desire

Unwoman – Wildness & Artifice

Garbage – Bleed Like Me

