A resounding success – that was my trip to the gem show.  Successful and interesting and kind of strange.  I came home with sizes and colors and shapes unlike anything I’ve ever bought.

the haul

the haul

My first and most expensive stop set the tone.  I was immediately drawn to teeny faceted gems – teeny being the operative word.  Those and then some wonderful trillian (sp?) shapes – think faceted pyramids – in several glorious stones … including PINK.  I am NOT a pink person.  One of my worst memories of pink was when my mother painted my bedroom in our new home pale pink with matching bedspread and curtains with little people doing the minuet – the true meaning of torture.  I was into Tarot cards and black light posters …  I digress.  But yesterday I bought pale pink tourmaline and pink amethyst – go figure.

I wondered up and down the isles and passed the endless booths of dreadful finished jewelry, cheesy imports and enormous gaudy baubles, there were tables and tables of really gorgeous gems and pearls, tribal and Asian wonders (wait till you see what Nina found at one of these booths!).  I think I spent money at maybe five vendors – everything I bought was teeny, very much not my normal M.O.  The thing that tied it all together was my biggest splurge of the day – six strands of very tiny drilled rough diamond beads in a delicious champagne color – they’re to the right of the peridot and another small splurge – a very small strand of a top drilled, sliced watermelon tourmaline.

sun dappled sparklies

sun dappled sparklies

My other favorites are the blue topaz trillians and then, I think this is right, paraiba topaz – a subtle light aqua.  Well, it’s hard to say which are my favorites – subtle silver topaz and smokey quartz, the yellows are equally yummy … yellow tourmaline, citrine, sapphires, lemon topaz.

sun dappled sparklies part two

sun dappled sparklies part two

I always seem to buy something I don’t really need, but can’t resist.  This time it was old brass jewelry stamps from somewhere in the middle east, maybe Afghanistan, who knows.  They’ll be great for PMC and have such wonderful patinas and are worn and heavy and, well they were just …  irresistible.

middle eastern jewelry stamps

middle eastern jewelry stamps

All the way home I was designing jewelry in my head, all night and all this morning.  So I’m hurrying to post this so I can get to work!  It’s been such a long time since I was really inspired, I mean REALLY inspired.  I have absolutely no idea how all these treasures are going to show up in my work – no idea.  But isn’t that the true joy of creating?  Collecting bits and pieces and sketches and silks and bamboo thread and a new dark chocolate leather hide that I picked up at the native American craft supply store on the way home.  No idea, but what a wonderful process, a sensuous journey of the mind, the hand and the heart.

Oooohhh, this is going to be fun!

blessings,

kvk

