I’ve had these components for months.  I actually made them back at the ‘park model’ then fired them at Nina’s ’cause my kiln was still packed up.  I’d been planning on adding a whole new section to my catalog – bronze versions of everything.  Then I got sidetracked – things like buying a house and moving AGAIN and getting settled and distracted by, hmmm, by everything.

I really do like the look of the bronze clay, a very warm golden color.  In it’s clay stage, it’s really messy to work with and I have to be really careful not to contaminate my silver PMC and it’s a regular pain to fire, but once that’s all done, I do really like the look of it.

components

components

So I’ve finally pulled out the little container with the bronze components, ready to put them to use.  I’ve got enough pieces to do two short coin necklaces – one 16″ and one 18″ with a beach pebble just off of center.  The coin necklaces with just one pebble – they’re just so beautiful and understated.  Plus I love to drill rocks and beach glass.  It’s always fun sorting through my shoe boxes full of pebbles and glass.   What is it about wearing rocks that is so compelling?  Touchstones, gratitude rocks, grounding, sensuous.  Just now thinking … bronze or silver with beach pebbles or glass … earrings.  That’s got potential.  Need tiny rocks, rocks as earrings tend to scare people.

shopping

shopping

I think I’ll use some of my new bamboo yarn for stitching – that’s if I’ve got an appropriate color.  I’m hoping to switch from silk to bamboo.  I need to check the relative fiber strengths and color selections.  The bamboo idea comes from me looking into green options for my work.  It’s a touchy subject with some folks and it’s a process for sure.   More research, gots to do more research.

The week ahead promises to be one to make my head swim.  After assembling, photographing, editing and posting the new bronze pieces on Etsy, I’ll be working on adding a shopping cart to my website.  The whole shopping cart thing … seriously steep learning curve.  I’ve got to do it.  There’s a bunch of places to go with my new marketing plan, but nothing can happen until I get the shopping cart up and running.

Should be an interesting week ………

with deep gratitude and blessings,

kvk

