This will be me being very productive and being quick like a bunny with this post …

It’s so nice to be in production mode.  However, this little computer is right in front of my worktable and calls to me throughout the day.  Little pings when I’ve got a new email, a song on my current Pandora station that needs a thumbs up or, more importantly, an immediate thumbs down – how did THAT get in there?  Then I’ll get sidetracked … I’ll think of something I want to look up or a site I’d been thinking about and want to see what’s new or a blog that I haven’t visited in a while and want to get caught up.  Very sneeky this little computer, very seductive, very addictive.

Henceforth, I’m making a effort to exercise restraint and not go cruising after this.  Not an easy thing to do!

What’s in the works at the moment will be an Etsy first.  I’m working on some fine silver PMC coin necklaces (there’s bronze versions there, but never silver).  The double strand version of this necklace was the centerfold of  San Francisco MOMA’s holiday flier a couple years ago.  There’ll be at least a couple and at least one with a beach pebble.   It’s such a great piece and looks amazing on.  Coin necklaces – one of the few things I continue to love making – I can get pretty bored with too much repetition.  Of course production and repetition is the basis of my livelihood, so it’s important for me to stay excited by my work.

a bunch of bones and coins

a bunch of bones and coins

The other pieces are my bones.  I’ve been making these for at least 6 or 7 years and have never tired of them.  They’re still fun to make – I still love the volcanic rock texture and the little rolled edges – and they’re still fun to assemble in all sorts of permutations.  I’ll be doing some of them on the stainless steel spring bracelets – the first batch were snapped up almost immediately – and I’ll be doing at least 1 or 2 necklaces that fall into the ‘gender neutral’ category.  They’re 21″ and work as either a necklace or bracelet.

bones in process

I’m getting ready to drill the forged steel pieces.  I had to stop working on them until I got fresh drill bits.  I’ve got lots of ideas for things to do with these elements.  I can’t wait to see how they turn out – always a surprise!  There’ll also be more  hoop earrings, smaller ones – 1 1/2″ diameter and jumbo – 3 1/2″ diameter.

The goal is to have things posted to Etsy on Monday.  Wish me luck!

Okay Kathy – step away from the computer … step away NOW!

sending gratitude and blessings,

kvk

