Welllll, best laid plans and all that ………..

I’ve got bones necklaces and bracelets and four different versions of my fine silver coin necklace and three or four more pairs of hoops all finished and ready for pictures.  Actually, I’ve taken pictures of most of the work.  But here it is after 9 o’clock and I’m just now starting to photoshop the images.  I’ll be out of the studio tomorrow – I’ve got some special jewelry for a special person that’s getting special, personal delivery.  So it looks like it will be Thursday before the work gets posted on Etsy.  I also found another promising on-line handmade site called Supermarket that I’ll be checking out.

I’ve also got a bunch of the steel elements almost ready for finishing.  Like Lynne was saying, the steel was looking fine!  It’s even more fine now and will be really fine when done.

Here’s the fruits of my efforts over the last week or so ….

a week's work

a week's work

And a couple of better images of two finished pieces.  Here’s a variation from my ‘regular’ bones necklace – I really love the bones with beach glass.  This one’s 18″.  It’s been such a long time since I’ve made these on a regular basis.  I still love the look of the bones and still love making them.  That’s a good thing.

bones with beach glass

bones with beach glass

And here’s a variation on my fine silver coin necklace.  Over the years, I’ve only done a couple of these with pebbles.  They’re longer, usually in the 24 – 36″ range.  This one’s 26″.  The pebble I found for this necklace is just perfect – kind of kidney shaped, very thin and flat – from one of my walks on the beach in Port Townsend.

coins with beach pebble

coins with beach pebble

One thing I learned the hard way with these necklaces – they have to be stitched with a double strand of the silk.  I also learned today, a fan blowing right on me is not advisable when working with this much thread.  Messy, messy, pain in the neck.  So I had to do without the fan.  There’s also several steps to drilling the pebbles – drilling the hole, widening it, rounding the edge and then flattening it out – I want to be sure the pebble doesn’t wear through the silk.

Also – an update on the bamboo thread I wanted to use.  I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before … anyway.  The bamboo has virtually no strength … I can break it easily just by pulling with both hands.  It’s only 2-ply and not tightly wound.  No where near as strong as the silk – not even close.  I think I’ll be able to use it if I braid several strands, but it’s a no-go for the stitched series.   Bummer.

That’s all for now.  It’s almost 10 and it’s pumpkin time for this little designer.

If anyone’s waiting to see more of what’s in the works, be sure to check back Thursday for sure.  Thanks for visiting!

Blessings,

kvk

