I wanted to share my enormously successful venture into ‘foodie world’.  I ended up spending the better part of the day cooking and cleaning up.  It’s been such a long time since I put this much effort into a meal – lord mercy was it worth it … absolutely sumptuous.

The tomatoes got the skins removed, stirred up and zipped up into the freezer.

roasted tomatoes

The chicken and the pintos cooked all afternoon.  The seasoning was just right and everything was just perfect.  Here’s the roasted poblano peppers stuffed with polenta and goat cheese, lightly seasoned pintos and slow cooked Mexican chicken, a dry white wine on the side.  Oh my, so good, so very good.

a days work

Somewhere in the middle of all this, I got even more inspired.  I had the chicken and the pintos on to cook and I was wondering about dessert.  I had bought a pint of ginormous blackberries at the farmer’s market and decided to make mini pies.  I’m being very straight here when I say –  I make really good pie crusts – but it’s been a while.  I spiced up the blackberries with cinnamon, a dash of cloves and a bit more nutmeg, a bit of sugar and some flour to glue it all together.  Then the mix got tucked into squares of buttered pie dough, the edges rolled up, baked for 20 minutes till lightly brown, then a light brushing of butter when they came out of the oven.

blackberry mini pies

The best part is, I’ve got leftovers.  Well, the poblanos and goat cheese are gone, but I’ve still got chicken and pintos and pies.  Makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

All in all, a really nice day.  No jewelry, no website maintenance, no stress.  Good food ruled the day.

Tomorrow is back to work.  Lots ahead, lots and lots.

sweet dreams and ttfn,

kvk

