Today’s day trip was to Penland – an amazing school for super high caliber art and craft.  We’d never been there, so it was good fun discovering a new part of our surrounding area – and it’s only a little over an hour away!  I completely forgot to take any pictures while we were roaming around the campus, but their website is chock full.  The official gallery/shop was jam packed with really excellent work in a wide variety of mediums.  Of course my favorite work was the jewelry, but there was plenty of eye candy in clay and fiber and glass and more.

We wandered around the campus a bit, perused the supply shop … not like I need anything, but it’s always fun to look.  They had a pretty good book selection – almost as good as mine … titter titter.  Then we wandered over to the coffee shop for lunch and past the clay studio.  I couldn’t get too close, drooling would have ensued, and could have proved embarrassing.  I love kilns – big ones, mostly big wood fired ones and they had at 2 or 3.  There was a little quick-fire one that might do nicely in my back yard.  I wonder what Asheville city regulations are about that sort of thing???

Next stop was the studio/gallery of a favorite potter, Terry Gess.

Terry Gess Studio

Terry Gess Studio

Really cute space.  Terry wasn’t there, but you just walk in and help yourself.  He’s even got a knuckle buster for credit cards.

Terry's Shop

Terry's Shop

We enjoyed looking around, but nothing grabbed us and we decided to wait for our next stop, what we’d been really looking forward to for such a long time – Nick Joerling’s studio.  We drove past it and turned around in the driveway of this house – the roof was incredible!  Rusted but with turquoise mixed in and the house was a wonderful weathered ochre.

amazing tin roof

amazing tin roof

So, on our second try, we found Nick’s studio.  I was too shy to take a picture of him, so I snagged one off the internet…

Nick Joerling

Nick Joerling

We are huge fans of his work and it’s not readily available.  He was in the studio and is such a truly nice guy, no pretense, a very gentle spirit and really really talented.  We ended up buying two cups and a plate.  The plate was a splurge, but was too irresistible to pass up.  It occurs to me the plate is the same colors as that wonderful house and tin roof.

Nick pots #1

Nick pots #1

Nick pots #2

Nick pots #2

Okay, so we’re compulsive mug freaks – ever in search of wonderful mugs.  We’ve done quite well since getting back to NC, very well indeed.

So tomorrow we’re off on another adventure.  We’ll take the laptop with us, so hopefully I’ll be able to check in along the way.  For now, I’m trying really hard to stay away from my worktable and divert my focus from work in general.

OMG!  I just remembered – PROJECT RUNWAY returns tonight … finally!!!!!  Must shut down – lots to do before fashion excitement begins.

many blessings – kvk

