Luddite:  after Ned Ludd – an English laborer who was supposed to have destroyed weaving machinery around 1779.   One who opposes technical or technological change.

I’ve been mulling over the concessions I’ve made to technology.  Where once I balked at having a home computer, it’s now an absolute necessity.  I have a cell phone, but it’s a  ‘pay-as-you-go’ that I’ve had for almost 5 years and does nothing but make phone calls.  I’ve dipped into Facebook as it was suggested that the social networking thing was a good way to grow my business.  The more I’m there, the less I want to be.  So I keep going back and forth … to Facebook or not to Facebook.  To Twitter or not – definitly not going there.  Gotta say, I do love blogs.  Oh and I am liking that flat panel TV with 5.1 surround sound we got for a housewarming/birthday/Christmas present.  I digress…

So, my mulling lead to wondering with what faction of humanity I might be aligned … can’t help it, it’s just me and my obsession with naming things.  I like the idea of the Steampunk movement, but most of the work that claims that moniker is not my flavor.  I’m thinking I’ll start my own movement – Neo Luddite … maybe Revisionist Luddite.  Some concessions are made, but my preference tends towards a mix of the old-fashioned and relatively minimal.  Sort of the 30’s meets wabi-sabi.

Here’s a visual aid.  Tis the season to exchange my summer ruby slippers (wabi-sabi) for freshly polished brown oxfords (30’s re-dux).

ruby slippers

ruby slippers

lil ol man oxfords

lil ol man oxfords

As of late, there’s been a lot of ‘ruby slipper’ conversations.  Then last night I was reading Mike Dooley’s new book Infinite Possibilities.  Something to the effect of one way to help you get to where you want to go is ‘buy the shoes’.  That’s one reason it’s time to haul out the oxfords – it’s what they represent for me.  Five years ago, owning this pair of shoes would have been a total pipe dream.  Today, I can put on these shoes and every step is an affirmation of how far I’ve come, what I’ve accomplished so far and how easy it is to keep on keepin’ on.

Thankfully, this day has  brought several glimpses of clarity.  Naming things is fun and could be useful as a marketing tool, but the bottom line and my ultimate goal is to simply enjoy each day.  Have fun with my work, be open to new things and accept inspiration in whatever crazy form it appears.

A couple more things to consider:

“Don’t try to stand out from the crowd; avoid crowds altogether.” Hugh MacLeod

“#38 – Explore the other edge. Great liberty exists when we avoid trying to run with the technological pack. We can’t find the leading edge because it’s trampled underfoot. Try using old-tech equipment made obsolete by an economic cycle but still rich with potential.” – Bruce Mau’s Incomplete Manifesto

Avoid balance – I’m thinking it’s a lot more fun to have a raucous ride on the playground swing than to sit calmly on the see-saw with it’s well-defined boundaries.  I want the wind in my face and the better view.  Danielle makes a good case for this here.

I think that’s enough for now.  This will be me clicking the heels of my oxfords and sailing joyfully into the night.

blessings – kvk

