I’ve been getting a lot of inspiration from cruising the internet.  Granted, not what I’m supposed to be doing, but it’s been my only outlet for a bit of distraction.  On a recent foray into surfing, I came across something that was that wonderful combination of compelling yet disturbing.  What I love is how I went from a design blog –  Style Bubble :

hyena men skirt

to Pieter Hugo’s startling The Hyena and Other Men images:

Pieter Hugo Hyena men #12

Really extraordinary imagery and I’m not sure what I think about all of it, but man does it suck me right in.  I think these images are showing up different places, but this was my first time seeing them.  Be sure to read the back story – really amazing.

Then, a couple days later from a WhiteHotTruth post, a Q&A session gave me this:

“What would I do if I were not afraid?” I’m going to be working on this one for a while.  Interesting that the fears are so deeply embedded it’s hard to nail down just what I would do.  Curious and compelling yet again.

Moving along … on another surfing trip, I checked in on a jewelry site that I really like – Black Sheep and Prodigal Sons.  He’s got a new group of work called Theft of Light.  I love the images for this work.  Here’s one of my favorites.

theft of light collar

This necklace got me to thinking about a sculptural coat that was in a Fiberarts magazine from several years ago.  These days I keep a little pad of neon stickies around to mark my favorite pages and passages in my magazines and books.  Unfortunately, I hadn’t done that with my Fiberarts collection.   I had to stop everything and haul out my modest collection (thank goodness) and rifle through them all to come up with the image I had in mind … Erica Rasmussen’s wearable sculpture from the March/April 2002 issue of Fiberarts.   How do I remember this stuff???  Anyway, you can see the similarities:

erica rasmussen

Layers, I absolutely love layers.  Even more better, layers combined with the repetition of form.  I’ve been wanting to translate this idea into my own work … been thinking about it for years.  I got a little ways there with my plank components  – I just need to figure out how I want to do the layering.  This one’s been in the line for a couple of years:

planks necklace

This is the most recent addition:

folded planks necklace

I love both of these pieces and really love the folded planks.  I’m liking them even more knotted on silk – more expensive, but very luscious.  I seem to be getting much more inspiration from things woven than from things forged.  I’m looking forward to taking some time to do a thorough perusal of my fiber magazines.  Soon my little collection will be rife with a neon fringe.

Through all of this, I’ve been working on orders and getting quite a bit done.  Of course music is always a vital component to creating and I’ve been drawn back to some old favorites.  A couple of years ago, I couldn’t get enough of Nick Drake and Elliott Smith.  I thought it strange that I was being so inspired by a couple of tragic figures from the musical world – it was my ‘suicidal young men’ series.  These days I can get to a similar place with Jose Gonzalez – he seems to be doing well, no signs of a death wish (at least not that I know of).

And then I made a radical turn after watching a couple of on-demand music videos.  Now I’m on a hurdy-gurdy quest.  I’m quite pleased to have found the two favorite songs that came to mind.

Loreena McKennitt’s The Mummer’s Dance

And then for something out of left field … Jimmy Page and Robert Plant, Gallows Pole.  The embedding code was disabled, but here’s the link.  I especially love this version.  The set design is glorious and Plant’s wardrobe is divine.

All in all, it’s been a very satisfying and full week.

One more thing.  I got it in my head I want to do an updated version of a necklace from many years ago.  What I need are some of these beads.  They’re dichroic beads by an artist that I thought was named Basia.  I’m thinking that’s not right since I can’t find her anywhere.  I do know someone who has a stash of them and could tell me who she is or how to find her, but my friend is otherwise engaged with a newborn.  So, the questions are … #1 – anyone recognize these beads or this artist?  #2 – anybody know if she’s still making and selling these beads?  #3 – if yes, anyone know how to find her?  Any help is appreciated so that I can stop obsessing.  BTW – the raku beads are from Rory Raku – I’ve got lots of those.

le monde ancien

ttfn

blessings – kvk

